healthy for the soul

The sanctification process that we strive to provide through Sancti-Tea, offers a contemplative element. At Sancti-Tea, we believe that the state of one’s soul is a critical element in overall health. It is our goal to provide our customers with tangible ways to improve the condition of their soul, specifically through contemplation, meditation and reflection. We believe that in attaching this healthy routine to a morning cup of tea, one can form a habit that makes sanctification a daily process.

The Role of Virtues

Each day while you steep your tea, take five minutes to quiet your mind. At Sancti-Tea we place high value on the virtues as a means to sanctify. While the study of virtues can become an in-depth study, we will focus here on the basic building blocks that will allow you to quickly apply them to your everyday life.

The pursuit of each of these virtues helps us to live in community with one another, upholding the dignity of the human person. By working to achieve these virtues in everyday life, we are choosing a world that promotes the common good for all people and respects all life.

Our recommendation is to choose one virtue from the lists below and reflect upon ways that this can be applied to your everyday life. In meditation, a practice that dates back over 5000 years in the eastern world, repetition of one word is a common way to clear the mind and promote balance. Choose a new virtue each day to infuse and sanctify your soul through repetition or reflection.

Virtues 101

There are many different approaches to virtues. In short, Webster defines a virtue as a commendable quality or a particular moral excellence. Below you will find the virtues from various points of view. Check the additional resources section for more information.

There are four cardinal virtues. The term “cardinal” comes from the Latin cardo or hinge; the cardinal virtues are so called because they are hinges upon which the door of the moral life swings. These four virtues derived initially from Plato’s scheme are Prudence, Justice, Restraint, and Courage.

  • Prudence – the ability to judge, with regard to appropriate actions, at a given time
  • Justice – proper moderation between self-interest and the rights and needs of others
  • Restraint (or Temperance) – practicing self-control, abstention, and moderation
  • Courage (or Fortitude) – forbearance, endurance, and ability to confront fear and uncertainty

Ben Franklin also found the virtues to be an important part of daily life and one by one worked to achieve 13 virtues, as outlined in The Art of Virtue by Franklin himself. Each week he placed focus on one of the virtues and marked his progress in achievment. He understood that to live a virtuous life, one not only needs to know what is good, but also be able to apply this knowledge in everyday actions.

These virtues include Temperance, Silence, Order, Resolution, Frugality, Industry, Sincerity, Justice, Moderation, Cleanliness, Tranquility, Chastity and Humility.

We see restraint as the keystone of yet another list of virtues entitled the seven holy virtues. The other holy
virtues are created through selfless pursuits. These include:

  • Valour: Pursuit of Courage and Knowledge
  • Generosity: Pursuit of Giving
  • Liberality: Pursuit of Will
  • Diligence: Pursuit of Ethics
  • Patience: Pursuit of Peace
  • Kindness: Pursuit of Charity
  • Humility: Pursuit of Modesty

Resources for additional reading:

healthy for the body. healthy for the soul.